Coconut Granola


I love breakfast. Unfortunately I’m absolutely terrible at actually getting around to eating it. Ever since I left school I’ve worked jobs which require me to leave the house at the arse crack of dawn and as a result my body is used to not eating until about midday. When I get a day off I like to treat myself to breakfast, whether it be something quick before the school run or something a bit more leisurely. I like to keep homemade granola on hand for those ‘quick breakfast’ days. 

One of the benefits of homemade granola is that you can control the amount of sugar which goes in to it. So many supermarket breakfast products are laden with sugar, salt and preservatives, none of which are good things to start your day with. This recipe uses agave syrup which comes from cacti. It tastes a lot sweeter than sugar or honey which means you can use a lot less of it. Feel free to substitute Agave syrup for date syrup, carob syrup, honey, golden syrup….whatever tickles your pickle really.

You can use whatever dried fruits, nuts and seeds you like to tailor this to your preferences. I’ve stuck with the tropical vibe because I’m a flamboyant, tropical-loving kinda gal!

Ingredients

75g coconut oil, melted

150g agave syrup

300g oats

100g seeds (I’ve used sunflower and pumpkin seeds)

100g nuts (I’ve used pecans, peanuts, hazelnuts and almonds)

100g dried fruit (I’ve used pineapple, mango, coconut, raisins and goji berries)

50g desiccated coconut


Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 160 degrees C / gas mark 3
  2. Place all of your dry ingredients, excluding the dried fruit, in a large mixing bowl. Set aside the dried fruit until later.
  3. Mix your melted coconut oil with the syrup and pour over the dry ingredients. Mix well.
  4. Turn this out onto 2 lined baking sheets. It needs to be spread quite thinly.
  5. Place in your preheated oven for 10 minutes.
  6. After ten minutes, take the baking sheets out of the oven and use a spatula to turn the granola and move it around a bit. This helps to ensure it bakes evenly. Place back in the oven for a further 10 minutes.
  7. Remove from the oven again (last time I promise) and scatter the dried fruit over the granola. Mix it up and make sure it’s nice and even, then pop it all back in the oven for another 7-10 minutes (this depends on how feisty your oven is).
  8. When the granola is ready it should be an even shade of golden brown. Leave it to cool on the tray. As the sugars cool it causes the oats to clump together giving you those nice clusters of crunchy goodness. 
  9. When completely cooled, transfer to an airtight container. This will keep for around two weeks before it starts to lose its crunch.
  10. I like to serve this with vegan coconut yoghurt and fresh fruit, but it’s also lovely with milk.


Leave a Reply

